clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tigers name permanent team captains, MVPs at team banquet

Give you one guess who took home the big prize?

Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

LSU held the yearly team banquet last night, naming the team MVP, as well as offense and defense most-valuable honors, and the permanent team captains of record.

In a shocking upset, sophomore tailback Leonard Fournette was name the team MVP. He shared the honors on offense with offensive tackle Vadal Alexander. Deion Jones and Jamal Adams split the honors on defense. Jones led LSU in tackles and tackles for loss with 92 and 11.5, respectively, while Adams led in interceptions (4) and pass break-ups (9) in addition to his 60 tackles.

Meanwhile, Fournette, Alexander, Jones and Jamie Keehn were honored as the team's permanent captains.

Keehn was also one of 16 players to receive their degree at LSU's Fall Commencement exercises on Friday.

Congratulations to our graduates during the 2015 year!John Diarse, Ronnie Feist, Jamie Keehn, Lamar Louis, Logan...

Posted by LSU Football on Friday, December 18, 2015

LSU will practice through the 23rd, break for Christmas and then gather for the trip to Houston for the Advocare Texas Bowl on the 29th.

UPDATE: Other Awards handed out, per the official release:

Safety Tommy LeBeau earned the Charles E. Coates Academic Award, which is presented to the football player who has demonstrated the highest commitment to scholarly work in combination with excellence on the football field.

Safety Jalen Mills and defensive end Lewis Neal were presented with the George M. Wallace Award, which is given annually to the players who distinguished themselves by performance, leadership and commitment to the team. Mills, a four-year starter, missed the first five games of the season with a broken ankle but still managed to record 30 tackles and a sack in five games. Neal, in his first full season as a starter, led the Tigers and ranked among the SEC in leaders in both sacks (8.0) and tackles for loss (9.5).

The Butch Duhe Award, which is given to those players whose character and contributions to the LSU football team most personify the idea of unselfishness, dependability and commitment, was presented to tight end Colin Jeter, linebacker Kendell Beckwith, center Ethan Pocic, wide receiverMalachi Dupre, and offensive tackle Jerald Hawkins.

Snapper Reid Ferguson and linebacker Duke Riley were named LSU's Special Teams Player of the Year, while the Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award was given to tight end Dillon Gordon, tight end J.D. Moore, tight end DeSean Smith, wide receiver Travin Dural, quarterback Brad Kragthorpe, defensive tackle Davon Godchaux, and defensive tackle Christian LaCouture.

2015 LSU Football Awards

Alvin Roy Strength and Conditioning Award
CB Tre'Davious White, DE Lewis Neal, S Jamal Adams, C Ethan Pocic, TE J.D. Moore, TE Colin Jeter, LB Christian Pittman, LB Grant Leger, LB Deion JonesJalen Mills

Dr. Charles E. Coates Academic
DB Tommy LeBeau

Wild Tiger Club (for special teams performance):
LB Lamar Louis, PK Trent Domingue, LB Duke Riley, P Jamie Keehn, LB Devin Voorhies, RB Derrius Guice, SNP Reid Ferguson, HOLD Brad Kragthorpe, S Jamal Adams, LB Deion Jones, CB Tre'Davious White, LB Donnie Alexander

Special Teams Coaches Award
SNP Reid Ferguson, LB Duke Riley

Wild Tiger Championship Trophy
LB Lamar Louis

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award
TE Dillon Gordon, TE J.D. Moore, TE DeSean Smith, WR Travin Dural, HOLD Brad Kragthorpe, DTDavon Godchaux, DT Christian LaCouture

Butch Duhe Award
TE Colin Jeter, LB Kendell Beckwith, C Ethan Pocic, WR Malachi Dupre, OT Jerald Hawkins

George M. Wallace Memorial Award
Jalen Mills, DE Lewis Neal

Newcomers Award
DE Arden Key, CB Donte Jackson, RB Derrius Guice, OG Maea Teuhema, OL Toby Weathersby, OGWilliam Clapp, CB Kevin Toliver, FB Bry'Keithon Mouton, TE Foster Moreau

National L Club Permanent Team Captains (Voted by Team)
Offense: Leonard FournetteVadal Alexander
Defense: Deion Jones
Special Teams: Jamie Keehn

No. 18 Award
CB Tre Davious White

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award
OT Vadal Alexander, RB Leonard Fournette

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award
LB Deion Jones, S Jamal Adams

Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player Award
RB Leonard Fournette