clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Tigers Mawae, Faneca Named Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists

Pair of Tiger linemen among 15 finalists.

Alan Faneca

Former LSU offensive linemen Kevin Mawae and Alan Faneca were among 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced this evening.

Mawae, who played for LSU from 1989 to 1993, played for the Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets and Tennessee Titans, primarily earning his reputation in New York, where he was an All-Pro selection five times. All-in-all, he earned All-Pro honors seven times, along with eight selections to the Pro Bowl. He also served as president of the NFL Players Association from 2008-2012.

Faneca was a consensus All-American for the Tigers in 1997, and drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the first round of the 1998 draft. He spent 10 of the next 13 seasons with the Steelers, before finishing his career with the Jets and Arizona Cardinals. Faneca was a nine-time All-Pro selection from 2001 to 2009, and earned two Super Bowl rings with the Steelers.

Both Mawae and Faneca were named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team for the 2000’s. They join offensive linemen Joe Jacoby and Tony Boselli as 2017 finalists, along with players like LaDanian Tomlinson, Ty Law, Terrell Owens, Kurt Warner and longtime New Orleans Saints kicker Morten Andersen.