clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LSU Hands Out 2017 Team Awards

Devin White and Darrel Williams named team MVPs.

LSU v Tennessee Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

LSU held its awards banquet for the 2017 team on Monday night, handing out various honors and naming the permanent captains of the team.

Senior running back Darrel Williams and sophomore linebacker Devin White shared the first-ever team Most Valuable Player honors.

From the official release:

Williams finished second on the team with 776 rushing yards and nine TDs. He added 22 receptions for 327 yards. Against Ole Miss, Williams became the first player in LSU history to have 100 yards rushing and receiving in the same game.

The 2017 Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award was shared by running back Derrius Guice and wide receiver DJ Chark. Guice led the Tigers in rushing with 1,153 yards and 11 TDs, while Chark paced the team in receptions (35) and receiving yards (811).

The 2017 Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award was presented to White and cornerback Greedy Williams. White was the leader of an LSU defense that ranked among the SEC best in points allowed (18.8), total defense (311.7) and rushing defense (126.4).

Williams, a redshirt freshman, led the SEC in interceptions with five and earned first team all-conference honors as well as being a third team All-America selection. Williams added 34 tackles and 10 pass breakups.

Six players were honored as permanent team captains for the 2017 Tigers. Permanent offensive team captains are Chark and center Will Clapp. Permanent defensive team captains are White, along with defensive ends Christian LaCouture and Rashard Lawrence.

The Charles E. Coates Academic Award was given to tight end John David Moore and quarterback Danny Etling. Moore was recently named a first team academic All-America, while Etling was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for football. Moore has a 4.0 grade point average in architecture, while Etling graduated with a 3.7 grade point average in mass communications last May.

The following is a complete list of LSU’s 2017 award winners:

Alvin Roy Award

Give to the player(s) who has shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Tiger’s year-round strength and conditioning program.

2017 Recipients: John David Moore, Breiden Fehoko

Dr. Charles E. Coates, Academic Award

Presented to the senior who has demonstrated the highest commitment to scholarly work in the combination with excellence on the field.

2017 Recipient: John David Moore and Danny Etling

Wild Tiger Special Team Award

Presented to the player who accumulates the most points over the season through his effectiveness on special teams plays.

2017 Recipient: Russell Gage and DJ Chark

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award

Presented by the Bengal Belles goes to player who have made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it.

2017 Recipients: Ed Ingram, Greg Gilmore, John Battle, Garrett Brumfield Saahdiq Charles

Butch Duhe Award

Recipient is one whose character and contributions to the LSU Football team most personify the idea of unselfishness, dependability and commitment to the team.

2017 Recipients: Foster Moreau, Corey Thompson, Toby Weathersby, Danny Etling, Darrel Williams, Russell Gage, KJ Malone

George M. Wallace Memorial Award

Presented to the defensive player who has distinguished himself by performance, leadership and commitment to team.

2017 Recipient: Rashard Lawrence, Christian LaCouture

It’s hard to argue with the MVP selections — Williams did about as good of a job in stepping up for the injured Derrius Guice as anybody could ask, and proved to be a heck of a multi-purpose weapon. White, well, he only had the best season any LSU linebacker has had since Kevin Minter in 2012.

Among the other awards, it’s notable that Breiden Fehoko, a player that could only practice while sitting out his transfer year, was honored for the work he put in. That’s very exciting for next year’s defensive line along with Rashard Lawrence, Ed Alexander and the rest of the upcoming talents.