clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

March Badness: Who Is The Best Worst College QB?

We endeavor to name the best bad quarterback in college football history.

Alabama v South Carolina Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

If there is one thing that is extremely #onbrand for us here at ATVS, it is our celebration of all things weird and wonderful, especially when it comes to college football.

And one of my favorite phenomena is what I like to call the "good" bad quarterbacks. These are quarterbacks, preferably at a major program who, despite not being what you would traditionally consider "good" at their position, possess a certain je ne sais quoi. A certain joie de vivre. A zestiness to their brand of suckiness. Maybe they flash just enough talent to hold on to their job for much longer than they should. Maybe they even manage some noteworthy accomplishments on memorable teams, or maybe, they have that One Shining Moment that you will never forget.

No matter how badly you may want to do so.

These quarterbacks left college without any individual honors or all-conference recognition, but they remain nonetheless memorable. And we choose to honor them here.

After a twitter consult, I was able to come up with a full 16-man bracket with a few suggestions from around the country. It currently sits as follows:

The seeding in our four regions are as follows:

The Interception Region:

  1. Stephen Garcia, South Carolina (2007-2011)
  2. Matt Jones, Arkansas (2001-2004)
  3. Tate Forcier, Michigan (2009-2010)
  4. Wayne Madkin, Mississippi State (1998-2001)

The Fumble Region:

  1. Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky (2000-2003)
  2. Jordan Jefferson, LSU (2008-2011)
  3. Taylor Martinez, Nebraska (2009-2013)
  4. C.J. Brown, Maryland (2009-2014)

The Delay of Game Region:

  1. Tommy Rees, Notre Dame (2010-2013)
  2. Jake Locker, Washington (2006-2010)
  3. Connor Halliday, Washington State (2011-2014)
  4. John Parker Wilson, Alabama (2005-2008)

The Bad Snap Region:

  1. Bo Wallace, Ole Miss (2012-2014)
  2. Jacory Harris, Miami (2008-2011)
  3. Steve Tanneyhill, South Carolina (1992-1995)
  4. Randy McCown, Texas A&M (1995-1999)

Competition will kick off later this week. So thoughts? Who’d we leave off? Weigh in in the comments.