clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Of Watches and Lists: LSU Has Players On ‘Em

It’s that other time of summer.

NCAA Football: Citrus Bowl-Louisiana State vs Louisville Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Media days are one thing, but what they also foretell is the arrival of the annual spate of watch lists for the various post-season awards.

Are you a current college football player? Do you have a position? Congratulations! You made the list.

And even if you didn’t, you can still get on it once games are actually played.

As for LSU itself, the following players made it:

  • Will Clapp — the Dave Rimington Award for college football’s best center
  • Derrius Guice, Arden Key — the Maxwell Award for America’s college football player of the year
  • Key, Kevin Toliver — the Chuck Bednarik Award for college football’s most outstanding defensive player
  • Key and Toliver are also on the Nagurski Award list for the National Defensive Player of the Year
  • Clapp — the Outland Trophy, for the country’s top interior offensive lineman
  • Donte Jackson — the Thorpe Award for the best defensive back in the game (#DBU)

More to come later in the week, no doubt. You — yes you! May even be on such a list.

Past award winners for LSU include receiver Josh Reed (Biletnikoff), Ben Wilkerson (Rimington), Glenn Dorsey (Lombardi, Outland, Nagurski, Lott), Patrick Peterson (Thorpe, Bednarik), Tyrann Mathieu (Bednarik), Morris Claiborne (Thorpe) and Odell Beckham Jr. (Hornung).