clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Tigers Named to Preseason All-SEC Team; Others Named to Watch Lists

Moreau, Giles on Mackey and Biletnikoff lists.

NCAA Football: SEC Football Media Day Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

On the final day of SEC media days, in addition to other silly predictions, reporters named their first, second and third All-SEC teams, with Tigers Devin White, Greedy Williams, Garrett Brumfield, Rashard Lawrence and Zach Von Rosenberg named.

White and Williams, to no surprise, were named to the first team defense, while Brumfield made the second-team offensive line. Lawrence was a third-team pick on defensive line, along with Von Rosenberg as a punter.

OFFENSE First-Team:

QB Drew Lock, Missouri
RB Damien Harris, Alabama
RB Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
WR A.J. Brown, Ole Miss
WR Deebo Samuel, South Carolina
TE Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
OL Jonah Williams, Alabama
OL Greg Little, Ole Miss
OL Martez Ivey, Florida
OL Trey Smith, Tennessee
C Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama

DEFENSE First-Team:

DL Raekwon Davis, Alabama
DL Cece Jefferson, Florida
DL Montez Sweat, Mississippi State
DL Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State
LB Devin White, LSU
LB Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
LB Mack Wilson, Alabama
DB Deandre Baker, Georgia
DB Greedy Williams, LSU
DB J.R. Reed, Georgia
DB Deionte Thompson, Alabama

OFFENSE Second-Team:

QB Jarrett Stidham, Auburn
RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M
WR Terry Godwin, Georgia
WR Ryan Davis, Auburn
TE Isaac Nauta, Georgia
OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia
OL Lester Cotton, Alabama
OL Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas
OL Garrett Brumfield, LSU
C Lamont Gaillard, Georgia

DEFENSE Second-Team:

DL Jonathan Ledbetter, Georgia
DL Terry Beckner, Missouri
DL Derrick Brown, Auburn
DL Isaiah Buggs, Alabama
LB Josh Allen, Kentucky
LB Deshaun Davis, Auburn
LB D’Andre Walker, Georgia
DB Mike Edwards, Kentucky
DB Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, Florida
DB Jamel Dean, Auburn
DB CJ Henderson, Florida

OFFENSE Third-Team:

*QB Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State
*QB Jake Fromm, Georgia
RB Aeris Williams, Mississippi Statw
RB Jordan Scarlett, Florida
WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
WR Emanuel Hall, Missouri
TE C.J. Conrad, Kentucky
OL Matt Womack, Alabama
OL Zack Bailey, South Carolina
OL Javon Patterson, Ole Miss
OL Marquel Harrell, Auburn
C Erik McCoy, Texas A&M

DEFENSE Third-Team:

DL Dontavius Russell, Auburn
DL Rashard Lawrence, LSU
DL Marlon Davidson, Auburn
*DL Kingsley Keke, Texas A&M
*DL Landis Durham, Texas A&M
LB Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB David Reese, Florida
LB De’Jon Harris, Arkansas
DB Mark McLaurin, Mississippi State
DB Marco Wilson, Florida
DB Javaris Davis, Auburn
DB Santos Ramirez, Arkansas


P Corey Fatony, Missouri
PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
Returner Deebo Samuel, South Carolina
All-purpose Deebo Samuel, South Carolina


P Joseph Charlton, South Carolina
PK Daniel LaCamera, Texas A&M
Returner Mecole Hardman, Georgia
All-purpose Trevon Diggs, Alabama


P Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU
PK Tucker McCann, Missouri
Returner Trevon Diggs, Alabama
All-purpose Kadarius Toney, Florida

I feel confident in predicting this number will go up by the end of the year, with Lawrence in particular finishing higher than third team. Players like K’Lavon Chaisson, Grant Delpit, Cole Tracy and probably at least one other offensive lineman will be in the mix here as well.

In other news, tight end Foster Moreau was named to the John Mackey Award Watch List. The award goes to the nation’s top tight end. Moreau is LSU’s leading returning receiver with 30 catches for 357 yards and four touchdowns, and graded out as the top blocking tight end in the game by Pro Football Focus.

Jonathan Giles was also named to the Biletnikoff Watch List for the country’s top wide receivers. Giles was a finalist for the award in 2015 with Texas Tech.