clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

#AWARDSZN Open Thread

After all the hard work and breakneck schedule of the college football season, it has all suddenly stopped. LSU is in the middle of Finals and there’s not a whole lot going on except LSU’s travels on the chicken dinner circuit.

So far, LSU has already racked up some serious hardware:

  • Coach O was announced yesterday as the winner of the Home Depot Coach of the Year. There are half a dozen nationally recognized coach of the year awards, and this one is maybe the least prestigious, as it’s voted on only by ESPN staffers. Coach O is also a finalist for the Robinson, Munger, and Bryant CotY awards.
  • Passing Game Coordinator Joe Brady won the Broyles Award earlier this week, presented to the top assistant coach in college football. He is the first non-OC/DC to win the award ever.
  • Joe Burrow was in Indianapolis Baltimore earlier this week to accept the Johnny Unitas “Golden Arm” award as the top “senior or 4th year” QB in the country. it was an opportunity for some big photo ops

The weekend holds even more new treasure for the LSU trophy case, starting tonight with the National College Football Awards Association Awards show, which is a made for TV event on ESPN tonight where over a dozen individual awards are given out before Saturday’s big show for the Heisman. The award show is at 6pm central on ESPN and TWO HOURS long, which is plenty ridiculous, so here’s what you need to watch for:

(Award is actually given out before the show, announced at 5pm on SportsCenter tonight.)

Joe Burrow (LSU, senior) - WINNER

Justin Fields (Ohio State, sophomore)

Chuba Hubbard (Oklahoma State, sophomore)

Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin, junior)

Chase Young (Ohio State, junior)

Grant Delpit, LSU (Jr.) - WINNER

Jeff Okudah, Ohio State (Jr.)

J.R. Reed, Georgia (Sr.)

Joe Burrow, LSU (Sr.) - WINNER

Justin Fields, Ohio State (Jr.)

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (Sr.)

Joe Burrow, LSU (Sr.) - WINNER

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (Sr.)

Chase Young, Ohio State (Jr.)

Ja’Marr Chase, LSU (So.) - WINNER

CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma (Jr.)

Michael Pittman Jr., USC (Sr.)

And then of course, there is the Heisman on Saturday, where we’ll spend another full hour waiting as ESPN attempts to paint this year’s other candidates as anywhere near worthy of Joe Burrow’s new mantelpiece. Consider this an open thread for commiseration as we watch and wait.