clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Tigers Named AP All-Americans; Team Awards Announced

Bet you can guess one of them.

SEC Championship - Georgia v LSU Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase, cornerback Derek Stingley and safety Grant Delpit joined Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow (still feels great to type) as LSU’s representatives on the Associated Press’ All-American team.

Of course, Burrow and Chase are mortal locks as the Heisman and Biletnikoff trophy winners. Delpit was a unanimous All-American choice last season, and didn’t quite play at that level this season, but name recognition has it’s benefits. Stingley’s choice was outstanding to see for the true freshman, after leading the SEC in interceptions and pass break-ups. Of course, he somehow was not the conference’s freshman of the year choice.

Jacoby Stevens probably had a gripe after an 82 tackle. 8.5 tackle-for-loss, three-interception stat line. Here’s the full AP team list.



QB - Joe Burrow, senior, LSU

RB - Chuba Hubbard, sophomore, Oklahoma State

RB - Jonathan Taylor, junior, Wisconsin

OT - Penei Sewell, sophomore, Oregon

OT - Andrew Thomas, junior, Georgia

OG - Wyatt Davis, sophomore, Ohio State

OG - Kevin Dotson, senior, UL-Lafayette

C - Tyler Biadasz, junior, Wisconsin

TE - Harrison Bryant, senior, Florida Atlantic

WR - Ja’Marr Chase, sophomore, LSU

WR - CeeDee Lamb, junior, Oklahoma

AP - Lynn Bowden Jr., junior, Kentucky

PK - Keith Duncan, junior, Iowa


DE - Chase Young, junior, Ohio State

DE - James Lynch, junior, Baylor

DT - Derrick Brown, senior, Auburn

DT - Javon Kinlaw, senior, South Carolina

LB - Isaiah Simmons, junior, Clemson

LB - Evan Weaver, senior, California

LB - Micah Parsons, sophomore, Penn State

CB - Derek Stingley Jr., freshman, LSU

CB - Jeff Okudah, junior, Ohio State

S - Antoine Winfield Jr., sophomore, Minnesota

S - J.R. Reed, senior, Georgia

P - Max Duffy, junior, Kentucky



QB - Justin Fields, sophomore, Ohio State

RB - J.K. Dobbins, junior, Ohio State

RB - Travis Etienne, junior, Clemson

OT - Jedrick Wills Jr., junior, Alabama

OT - Tristan Wirfs, junior, Iowa

OG - Shane Lemieux, senior, Oregon

OG - John Simpson, senior, Clemson

C - Creed Humphrey, sophomore, Oklahoma

TE - Hunter Bryant, junior, Washington

WR - Devonta Smith, junior, Alabama

WR - Michael Pittman, senior, Southern California

AP - Jaylen Waddle, sophomore, Alabama

PK - Rodrigo Blankenship, senior, Georgia


DE - A.J. Epenesa, junior, Iowa

DE - Curtis Weaver, junior, Boise State

DT - Jaylen Twyman, sophomore, Pittsburgh

DT - Jordan Elliott, junior, Missouri

LB - Hamilcar Rashed Jr., junior, Oregon State

LB - Zack Baun, senior, Wisconsin

LB - Jordyn Brooks, senior, Texas Tech

CB - Amik Robertson, junior, Louisiana Tech

CB - Jaylon Johnson, junior, Utah

S - Julian Blackmon, senior, Utah

S - Grant Delpit, junior, LSU

P - Braden Mann, senior, Texas A&M



QB - Jalen Hurts, senior, Oklahoma

RB - Zack Moss, senior, Utah

RB - AJ Dillon, junior, Boston College

OT - Calvin Throckmorton, senior, Oregon

OT - Colton McKivitz, senior, West Virginia

OG - Jonah Jackson, senior, Ohio State

OG - Ben Bredeson, senior, Michigan

C - Matt Hennessy, junior, Temple

TE - Charlie Kolar, sophomore, Iowa State

WR - Omar Bayless, senior, Arkansas State

WR - Rashod Bateman, sophomore, Minnesota

AP - Brandon Aiyuk, senior, Arizona State

Kicker - Nick Sciba, sophomore, Wake Forest


DE - Bradlee Anae, senior, Utah

DE - Alex Highsmith, senior, Charlotte

DT - Leki Fotu, senior, Utah

DT - Neville Gallimore, senior, Oklahoma

LB - Logan Wilson, senior, Wyoming

LB - Kenneth Murray, junior, Oklahoma

LB - Malik Harrison, senior, Ohio State

CB - Trevon Diggs, senior, Alabama

CB Luc Barcoo, senior, San Diego State

S - Tanner Muse, senior, Clemson

S - Xavier McKinney, junior, Alabama

P - Sterling Hofrichter, senior, Syracuse

Also yesterday, LSU held it’s annual football end of year awards ceremony. It’s not hard to guess who some of the awards go to, but it’s also often a place where the coaching staff will give recognition to some of the hard working guys in the program who fans may not be familiar with.

Alvin Roy Award

Give to the player(s) who has shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Tiger’s year-round strength and conditioning program.

2019 Recipients: Clyde Edwards-Helaire; Lloyd Cushenberry,III

Dr. Charles E. Coates, Academic Award

Presented to the senior who has demonstrated the highest commitment to scholarly work in the combination with excellence on the field.

2019 Recipients: Blake Ferguson

Outstanding Special Teams Award

Presented to the player who accumulates the most points over the season through his effectiveness on special teams play.

2019 Recipient: Blake Ferguson

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award

Presented by the Bengal Belles goes to player who have made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it.

2019 Recipients: Derrick Dillon; Damien Lewis; Breiden Fehoko; Glen Logan; Terrace Marshall, Jr; Thaddeus Moss

Butch Duhe Award

Recipient is one whose character and contributions to the LSU Football team most personify the idea of unselfishness, dependability and commitment to the team.

2019 Recipients: Blake Ferguson; Adrian Magee; Badara Traore; Stephen Sullivan; Jacob Phillips

George M. Wallace Memorial Award

Presented to the defensive player who has distinguished himself by performance, leadership and commitment to team.

2019 Recipient: Kristian Fulton; Rashard Lawrence; Grant Delpit; K’Lavon Chaisson

Outstanding Offensive Lineman

2019 Recipients: Lloyd Cushenberry III

Outstanding Defensive Lineman

2019 Recipient: Rashard Lawrence

Permanent Team Captains

Offense: Joe Burrow; Lloyd Cushenberry III

Defense: Rashard Lawrence; K’Lavon Chaisson

Special Teams: Blake Ferguson

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award

2019 Recipients: Joe Burrow; Justin Jefferson; Ja’Marr Chase; Clyde Edwards-Helaire

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award

2019 Recipients: JaCoby Stevens; Patrick Queen; Derek Stingley Jr.

Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player Award

2019 Recipients: Lloyd Cushenberry III; Clyde Edwards-Helaire