clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SEC Coaches, ADs Approve Normal Baseball Season

10 SEC series, 26 non-conference games

Alex Box 2014 5

The 2021 college baseball season is set to begin in just over a month and the schedule for the SEC is slowly crystalizing.

The head coaches of the 14 SEC schools voted on January 7 to keep the same schedule format as last season: 10 conference series with three games per weekend, and playing up to 26 non-conference games. The athletic directors approved that proposal on Wednesday, as first reported by Baseball America.

Not only will the SEC keep the same format for conference games, it will keep the 2020 schedule for the 2021 season. Every team will host and travel to the same opponents they were scheduled to host in 2020, since last season ended before conference play began. The order of games isn’t yet determined.

The SEC considered all kinds of schedules before ultimately settling on the traditional format. Paul Mainieri told 104.5 in December the league was considering a four-game SEC weekend, with Saturday being a 7-inning double-header, and no midweek games at all.

These will be the opponents and locations for LSU’s conference games this season

Home: Mississippi State, Vanderbilt, Arkansas, South Carolina, and Alabama

Away: Ole Miss, Tennessee, Kentucky, Auburn, and Texas A&M

LSU is scheduled to begin the 2021 season the weekend of February 19, where the Tigers will host Notre Dame, Army and Air Force. The rest of LSU’s schedule has yet to be announced.