clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

White, Fournette Help Lead Bucs to Super Bowl 55 Win

NFLSU shines on football’s biggest stage

Super Bowl LV Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Tampa Buccaneers won its second Super Bowl in franchise history, beating the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs 31-9.

LSU was well represented in Super Bowl LV, leading all programs with six former players, and seven if you include former Tiger sprinter Cyril Grayson.

Leonard Fournette and Devin White each had massive games for Tampa Bay. Fournette was the leading rusher in Super Bowl LV with 89 yards on 16 carries including a 27-yard touchdown run.

Fournette also caught all four passes thrown his way for 46 yards.

Devin White, on the other hand, was maybe the single best player on the field and had a legit argument to be named the game’s MVP with 12 tackles, 2 tackles for loss and an interception on Kansas City’s final possession to seal the win.

I’d also like to shout out Kevin Minter: Super Bowl champion. Minter didn’t record any stats in Super Bowl 55 but his efforts this season for Tampa will also be rewarded with a championship ring.

LSU was also well represented in the losing effort. Clyde Edwards-Helaire wouldn’t go from National champ to Super Bowl champ, but he was the Chiefs leading rusher with 64 yards on nine carries and also caught a pair of passes for 23 yards. Darrel Williams had not as impressive a night, gaining 15 yards from scrimmage on four touches (two carries, two catches).

Tyrann Mathieu and the Chiefs defense as a whole had a rough go of things. Mathieu had three tackles but also drew a pass interference call in the end zone, which led to a Tampa touchdown with six seconds to play in the first half. Mathieu also had an interception nullified thanks to a teammate being called for a hold.

We want to wish a hearty congrats to our former Tigers who are newly minted Super Bowl champions: Leonard Fournette, Kevin Minter, Devin White and Cyril Grayson.