clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kim Mulkey Inducted into Naismith Hall of Fame

LSU women’s basketball coach officially enshrined in Springfield

2020 Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE via Getty Images

LSU women’s basketball head coach Kim Mulkey was officially inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Saturday afternoon.

Mulkey was voted into the hall last year but the 2020 enshrinement ceremony was postponed due to COVID-19. The class of 2020 includes Mulkey, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Rudy Tomjanovich, Tamika Catchings, Eddie Sutton, Barbara Stevens, Patrick Baumann, and the late Kobe Bryant.

A Tickfaw, Louisiana native, Mulkey is the only person in NCAA history to win a national championship as a player, assistant coach and head coach. In total Mulkey has six national championships, winning two championships as Louisiana Tech’s starting point guard, a third as an assistant coach with Tech, and then won three title as Baylor’s head coach.

With Mulkey on staff as the head coach of the women’s basketball team, LSU has six Hall of Famers. Mulkey joins Bob Pettit (class of 1971), Pete Maravich (1987), Sue Gunter (2005), Van Chancellor (2007), and Shaquille O’Neal (2016).

Mulkey was introduced by the GOAT himself, Michael Jordan. You can watch Mulkey’s induction speech below: