clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derek Stingley, Cade York Named AP Preseason All-Americans

NCAA Football: SEC Championship-Georgia vs Louisiana State Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Football season is officially here.

We’ve passed the last football-less weekend of the year and have actual games of consequence to look forward to on Saturday. Week 0 means the Associated Press can release its preseason All-American list and a pair of Tigers are on the First-Team.

Juniors Derek Stingley Jr. and Cade York were recognized by the AP Monday afternoon, 12 days before LSU opens its 2021 season against the UCLA Bruins.

Stingley is quite familiar with being an All-American, having made it in both 2019 and 2020. If he were to make it this season, he’ll join Tommy Casanova as the only three-time All-American in program history. Stingley has broken up 26 passes and intercepted six through two seasons. Stingley enters his junior season on the Bednarik, Nagurski, Thorpe, and Hornung Award watch lists.

York was a second-team All-American last season after hitting 18 of 21 field goals. He’s successfully kicked 39 field goals through his first two seasons, which is already good for fourth in program history. He needs 16 makes to break Colt David’s career record. York also owns the record for most field goals from 50+ (10) and the career long with a 57-yarder against Florida last season. York enters the 2021 season as a favorite to win the Lou Groza Award, and if he were to win it he would be the first LSU placekicker to claim the award.

The AP All-America teams are as follows

First Team


  • QB Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma
  • RB Breece Hall, Iowa State
  • RB Bijan Robinson, Texas
  • OT Evan Neal, Alabama
  • OT Kenyon Green, Texas A&M
  • OG Cain Madden, Notre Dame
  • OG Zion Johnson, Boston College
  • C Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa
  • TE Charlie Kolar, Iowa State
  • WR Chris Olave, Ohio State
  • WR Justyn Ross, Clemson
  • AP Kyren Williams, Notre Dame
  • PK Cade York


  • DE Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon
  • De DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M
  • DT Haskell Garrett, Ohio State
  • DT Bryan Breese, Clemson
  • LB Will Anderson, Alabama
  • LB Nick Bonito, Oklahoma
  • LB Mike Rose, Iowa State
  • CB Derek Stingley, LSU
  • CB Ahmad Gardner, Cincinnati
  • S Kyle Hamilton, Notre Dame
  • S Brandon Joseph, Northwestern
  • P Jake Camarda, Georgia

Second Team


  • QB Sam Howell, North Carolina
  • RB Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota
  • RB Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M
  • OT Thayer Munford, Ohio State
  • OT Darian Kinnard, Kentucky
  • OG Jamaree Salyer, Georgia
  • OG Emil Ekiyor, Alabama
  • C Jarrett Patterson, Notre Dame
  • TE Jalen Wydermeyer, Texas A&M
  • WR Garrett Wilson, Ohio State
  • WR John Metchie, Alabama
  • AP Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss
  • PK Anders Carlson, Auburn


  • DE Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan
  • DE George Karlaftis, Purdue
  • DT Jordan Davis, Georgia
  • DT Dante Still, West Virginia
  • LB Devin Lloyd, Utah
  • LB Christian Harris, Alabama
  • LB Micah McFadden, Indiana
  • CB Kaiir Elam, Florida
  • CB Tiawan Mullen, Indiana
  • S Jalen Catalon, Arkansas
  • S Jaquan Brisker, Penn State
  • P Lou Hedley, Miami