clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jayden Daniels Wins the 2023 Heisman Trophy

Daniels joins Billy Cannon and Joe Burrow

That Kid Jayden is a Heisman Trophy winner.

Daniels won the Heisman Saturday night, becoming the third winner in LSU history. Daniels joins Billy Cannon’s win in 1959 and Joe Burrow in 2019. Daniels beat out Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr., Oregon quarterback Bo Nix, and Ohio State wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr.

While Burrow won the 2019 Heisman in a landslide, Daniels won the closest race since 2018 when Kyler Murray beat out Tua Tagovailoa. The voting breakdown is below:

Daniels claimed 503 first place votes and a total of 2,079 points. Michael Penix was right behind him with 292 first place votes and 1,701 points.

9-3 record be damned, Daniels is the best player in America. He’s got the numbers and now the hardware to back it up. Daniels will leave New York with not only a Heisman, but also the Davey O’Brien, Walter Camp, and Johnny Unitas awards.

Somehow, someway LSU has, in a five year span, produced two Heisman trophy winning quarterbacks. LSU used to be a quarterback wasteland, but now it might be QBU? I’m not complaining and neither should you.

Cheers, Jayden.